Project 7: Bad Ass Bookmarks

Standard

originally posted November 2009

This past Sunday I decided to dedicate most of the day to crafting and simultaneously have a Thin Man movie festival in my living room. The weather here in South Florida has been in the 80s with relatively little humidity, which means we can finally turn off the air conditioner and open up the house. There’s something about the fresh air wafting its way through the house that gets me energized. I woke up early actually expecting to work some overtime at my job, but luck was on my side and work was all caught up, leaving me free to do whatever I wanted…Yahoo!

Awhile back on one of my trips to Michael’s, I picked up The Rock Star Mat Stack from the scrapbooking department. I had no I idea what I was going to use it for, but I loved the really cool patterned cardstock in this mat stack. I was flipping through the stack the other day and thought I might make some bookmarks, as I seem to have a thing with bookmarks, and, hence, the Bad Ass Bookmark was created.

Here’s what you’ll need to make a Bad Ass Bookmark:

• Solid-colored cardstock

• The Rock Star Mat Stack by DCWV

• Double-sided tape

• Rhinestones and Sequins

• Craft glue/tacky glue

• Ribbons and fibers

Tools you’ll need for this project:

• Paper cutter

• Scissors

• Hole punch (I think the one I used is a ¼-inch hole punch)

• Ruler

• Decorative-edge scissors

Instructions:

1. Cut a piece of solid card stock 3 x 6 inches and trim the edges with your decorative-edge scissors. If you don’t have decorative edge scissors, you can tear the edges of the cardstock (tear about 1/8 inch of the edges and no more than that.

2. Next, cut the following from coordinating patterned papers and solid cardstock: A 2-1/4 x 5-1/4 inch piece of patterned cardstock; a 2 x 2-1/2 inch piece of solid-colored cardstock; a 1-3/4 x 2-1/4 inch piece of patterned cardstock. These will serve as the background piece and the top square of the bookmark.

3. For the bottom square of the bookmark cut the following: A 1-1/2 x 2 inch piece of solid-colored cardstock; a 1-3/4 x 1-1/4 inch layer of patterned paper. For the center strip, cut a strip of cardstock that will fit in between the top and bottom squares on the bookmark. Then using whatever color cardstock you used for the backing of your bookmark, cut a smaller strip to mount on top of the first strip.

4. With double-stick tape or a glue stick, adhere the patterned papers to their respective solid-colored mats and adhere the center strip to its mat.

5. Adhere the large and small squares to the bookmark as shown in the picture and adhere the thin strip in between the two squares. Punch a hole at the top of the bookmark making sure to center the hole.

6. To finish the bookmark, glue a sequin and/or rhinestone to the center strip. Cut several pieces of ribbon/fibers and run them through the hole at the top of the bookmark and tie them together with an overhand knot.

Make lots of them in different themes. The next time you give a book as a gift, include several handmade bookmarks with it.

Happy Crafting!

2 responses

  1. I LOVE these, I’m making cookies and cookie pops as wedding favors and I think I’m going to make these as gift tags with our names/wedding date on them that people can then use as bookmarks. Thanks so much for the idea!

    • You’re welcome :)

      The sky’s the limit really with this bookmark project. I hadn’t thought about using them for wedding favors. Great idea!