Project #11: Lacy ZigZag Scarf

Standard

originally posted November 22, 2010

Here’s a scarf I made for my niece who moved up to northern Florida this summer for college. I have several knitting stitch pattern books and this zigzag pattern caught my eye, and I thought it would be perfect as a scarf. A few weeks before starting the scarf I picked up a few balls of Naturally Caron Spa  – a 75% acrylic, 25% bamboo blend and super soft.

I actually tried two other patterns before settling on the zigzag and found they didn’t work well with this particular yarn. The yarn I think was a bit too soft and I was encountering problems with stretching at the ends and the yarn just not holding its shape with those patterns. I wasn’t too sure about the zigzag pattern but when I started working it up it became pretty apparent the Caron Spa was perfect for this particular stitch, and the end result is a sophisticated, lacy scarf.

Materials Needed:

Naturally Caron Spa – 2 balls (lt. worsted, DK)

Size 6 needles

Pattern note: Perform “yf” the same as a yarn over.

Instructions:

CO 45 stitches

Knit 3 rows

Row 1:  (right side): k4, *s1, k1, psso, k2, yf, k2, repeat from * to last 5 sts, k5

Row 2:  k4, *Purl, repeat * to last 4 sts, k4

Repeat rows 1 and 2 two more times (rows 3 thru 6)

Row 7:  k7, *yf, k2, k2tog, k2, repeat from * to last 8 sts, yf, k2, k2tog, k4

Row 8:  k4, *Purl, repeat from * to last 4 sts, k4

Repeat rows 7 and 8 two more times (rows 9 thru 12)

Repeat the above 12 rows until the piece measures about 50 inches.

Knit 3 rows.

BO.

Finished size:  Approximately 7-1/2 inches wide by 51-1/2 inches long

Happy Knitting!

9 responses

  1. Brilliant Jennifer. Many thanks for posting the pattern of your Lacy ZigZag Scarf. Can’t wait to purchase the equivalent yarn here in UK and start knitting.

    Kindest regards
    Carolyn

  2. This scarf is absolutely amazing. It turned out beautiful!!!! Thank you SOOO much for sharing!

  3. This pattern is stunning!! I am new to lace knitting and this was my first project. It is a gift, but now everyone who has seen me working on it wants one! The way the increases and decreases magically create the twisting illusion is amazing. Thanks so much! Knitted with mid-weight yarn and size 7 circular needles.