So, what’s up with this blog anyway???

Standard

By now some of you may be wondering what’s the deal with this blog. New readers are probably wondering why all of my posts up until now begin with the phrase “originally posted…”and you long-time readers are probably wondering why I’ve moved this blog yet again! Clearly an explanation is in order, so here goes…

Back in 2009 when I first started this blog, I used Blogger as my platform. After a couple of years I grew tired of the limited capabilities that Blogger had to offer and the unpredictability of that particular platform. I wanted to try out a self-hosted site. I really had no business going in that direction since I am the least tech savvy person I know, but I decided to go for it anyway.

In the late summer of 2011, I launched my new site. There was very little confusion in the move, and I managed to transfer most of the subscribers right along with me to the self-hosted site. Soon I was posting fairly regularly, adding new project posts and other crafty tidbits.

Now, lets fast forward to sometime after Christmas of 2011 and into 2012. I took a break from blogging for a month. It was during that break that something very bad happened. Some jerk HACKED my site. At first, I couldn’t believe it. Then, I had no idea what to do. I contacted my web hosting company to see if they could help. They couldn’t – or wouldn’t. I explained that I was deficient in all things related to running a self-hosted site, which probably irritated them. They told me what I should do, but since I don’t speak techno babble I had no idea what they were talking about. This all relates back to me having no business trying to run a self-hosted site.

Anyhoo, I decided to delete the site as soon as possible to avoid causing any kind of problems for readers visiting my site. I did lose quite a few posts in the process, but I was able to transfer most of the original posts from the old Blogger site. I actually cherry picked the more relevant posts from that  Blogger site and chose not to transfer every single blog post. I did lose some of the newer posts from the self-hosted site. However, I do have  a handful of projects and posts that were saved and will be added here in the near future.

The whole hacking incident really threw me for a loop and for a moment I decided not to bother with the blog anymore. I’ve stopped crafting and haven’t been writing either. In fact, this is the first thing I’ve written in months. I’m feeling a bit rusty and trying to get back into the swing of things. A few months ago, I began getting emails from people requesting instructions for many of the projects I’ve posted in the past, so I decided I should at least create a new blog and re-post the projects and the more helpful crafty posts. I hope to create new projects in the future, but for now I’m going to continue adding old posts and projects and then go from there.

So, in a nutshell, that’s the story of The Craft Floozy.

 

One response

  1. I can relate. The road to technical knowledge is brutal. It seems that by the time I understand a technical process, I find I need to understand a gazillion others on top of the last one. It’s an endless pursuit of progress via an unknown language. I really admire you for getting back up to write, to create, to share, to inspire. As a new blogger, I hafta remind myself all day long that this is only the beginning, there have been and will continue to be set-backs, it is a lot of hard work and as importantly as all those, it’s an opportunity to make a unique difference in the lives of others. Baby steps . . . create, express, respond, breathe . . . be. :)

    ~Gerean, The Oregon Pick & http://www.gereannas.com