Recycled Jars: The Perfect Storage Containers

Standard

originally posted September 2011

Hello. My name is Jennifer, and I’m a jar hoarder.

It all began innocently enough. I bought some pasta sauce and liked the shape of the jar so much that I could not bring myself to part with such a nifty container. Pretty soon a pattern developed. Each week I bought that same pasta sauce, whether or not pasta was on the menu, just for the jar. Soon, I branched off into different foods – olives, salsa, jelly, pine nuts – and before I knew it a small collection of jars accumulated.

I soon realized something needed to be done with them. These lovely glass vessels were taking up precious space in one of my kitchen cabinets, so I decided to start putting them to good use as storage containers.

The larger pasta sauce jars were perfect for storing dried beans, lentils, and grains like rice and barley. The screw-top lids afford an airtight closure, so these items stay fresh for a long time.

An added bonus is the organization these jars provide. I no longer have to sift through bags of beans, rice, and lentils to find what I need.

Storing craft supplies is another great use for recycled jars. In addition to being a hoarder of jars, I’m also a craft supply addict. It’s probably safe to say that most crafters have almost as much fun buying craft supplies as they do making crafts.

Most of my supplies are housed in boxes that sit in stacks on the shelves in my craft room. I wanted a way to display some of these items as well as easily access some of my supplies. The jars provided the perfect solution.

I use them for buttons…

beads and sequins…

and rhinestones

These particular jars serve a dual purpose in that they are both practical and decorative at the same time.

Just about anything you can think of can be stored in a jar. So, if you’re not currently hoarding them like me, it’s time become a member of the club. You’ll be reusing something your hard-earned money paid for and creating less waste at the same time.

Comments are closed.