Project 2: Dragonfly Flower Pot

Standard

originally posted 06/01/2009

I went on a little shopping spree this Saturday at my local Michaels and bought quite a few craft goodies. Among the things I picked up were supplies to make some painted flower pots. I wanted to decorate a new container to keep my paint brushes – they are currently being kept in a boring and somewhat ugly ceramic container. I wanted something bright with a little bit of sparkle, so I came up with this dragonfly design flower pot. The insect rub-on transfers were just what I was looking for, and I was excited to find self-stick jewels instead of regular rhinestones – No glue!…can’t get any simpler than that.

Here are the supplies you’ll need (all were purchased at Michaels):
• 4-inch clay pot
• Folk Art brand acrylic paint in colors #516 Light Lavender and #904 Lemonade
• Royal & Langnickel Rub-On Transfers #HAR1648T Insect Squares Translucent
• Darice Self-Stick Gems
• K & Company Adhesive Gems – Que Sera Sera
• Paint palette and paint brushes or sponge brushes
• Mod Podge (optional)

Instructions:
1. Wipe off any dirt or dust from your clay pots inside and out .
2. Paint the inside of the pot Light Lavender and the outside Lemonade. I used two coats of both colors, waiting a few minutes for the first coat to dry before painting the second coat.

3. When the paint is completely dry, apply your rub-on transfer, following the package instructions.

4. Add the self-stick gems to the rim of the pot.

5. Optional – Seal the pot with a coat or two of Mod Podge or acrylic sealer.

Your embellishments can be as simple or as elaborate as you want. There are so many different ways to decorate clay pots, and this project in just one example of what you can do. Decorate several and start an herb garden, or use them for storing your pens, pencils, paint brushes, or whatever else you can think of.

Happy Crafting!

Comments are closed.