Getting Your Work Published

Standard
one of my necklace designs in Bead Trends Nov 2008
originally posted June 11, 2009

I don’t know about you but I’m addicted to craft magazines. Every week when I go to the grocery store, the first place I stop is the magazine stand to see if any new mags have come out. I also subscribe to a couple of jewelry making magazines. Did you know that a lot of the craft magazines accept reader submissions and publish articles from everyday crafty people like ourselves? Well they do. In fact, I’ve been published twice in Bead Trends magazine. It was pretty simple to do – I just followed their submission guidelines, emailed pics of my items, and waited until I received a reply from them letting me know they wanted to publish my projects. If you have a project you’d like to see published in your favorite craft magazine and want to see if they accept reader submissions, either check the page of the magazine that has its publishing info (usually somewhere on the first couple of pages of the mag) or check with the magazine’s website for submission guidelines.

my vintage style bracelet in Bead Trends May 2009

I have compiled a small list of magazines and their websites that do accept submissions for projects and articles:

Knit.1
PieceWork
Quick and Easy Painting
Paper Creations
Interweave Crochet
Handwoven
Create and Decorate
Beadwork
Crafts ‘n Things
Stringing (jewelry)
Step by Step Wire Jewelry (this is a PDF file)
Paper Crafts Magazine

• Northridge Media publishes 4 magazines – Bead Trends, Scrapbook Trends, Cards, and Simply Handmade – Guidelines for all 4 magazines can be found here – scroll down the page and you’ll find info for each mag

• The guidelines for the following Interweave Press magazines can be found here – Quilting Arts, Quilting Arts Gifts, Cloth Paper Scissors, Studios, and Stitch magazine

Here is just a small sampling of magazines that accept reader submissions. Check the websites of other craft magazines to see if they accept submissions and see what the guidelines are, read over the guidelines carefully and begin submitting your work. Who knows, pretty soon you may see yourself in print!

Happy Crafting!

One response

  1. Thank you so much for doing this. I’ll tweet it for you. I’ll check the guidelines and try out the magazines. Dita.