Project 5: Whimsical Felt Flower Magnets

Standard

originally posted June 22, 2009

These felt magnets are super easy and quick. They’re also a kid friendly craft, although the adults need to handle the hot glue gun. I used felt squares that I purchased from Joann Fabrics. They’re pretty cheap – I think I paid 29 cents a square – and they come in a ton of colors. Cut out shapes free hand for a more organic look. If you’re not so confident in your free-hand cutting skills you can do what I did and make a template using card stock in the shape that you want. I used double-stick tape to affix the template to the felt and cut around the template.

Here are the supplies you’ll need to make these flower magnets:

• Felt squares in several colors

• Buttons

• Magnets {I used ¾ inch diameter button style magnets}

• Scissors

• Hot glue gun and glue sticks

• Card stock and pencil for making templates (optional)

• Double stick tape to affix the templates to the felt (optional)

Instructions:

1. Cut out your felt shapes {2 leaves, 1 large flower shape, 1 small flower shape}.

2. Cut out a felt circle a little larger than the magnet diameter.

3. With the hot glue gun, glue the leaves to the felt circle.

4. Next, glue the large flower shape onto the leaves and then glue the smaller flower on top of the large flower.

5. Glue on the button for the center of the flower.

6. Finally, glue the magnet to the felt circle.

Make magnets in whatever shapes you want – food, bugs, animals, people, or whatever your imagination can dream up.

Happy Crafting!

2 responses

    • No, I don’t have templates. When I made these, I just drew some flower shapes onto card stock, cut them out and used them as my templates, then tossed them when I was done using them.