Dover Clip Art + Watercolor Pencils = Work of Art

Standard

originally posted July 15, 2009

Okay, so I was going to have a project this week. To be exact, I was going to make some Art Deco note cards using clip art images from one of Dover’s CDs. Well, they turned out to be the world’s ugliest note cards. I attempted this project several times to no avail. I guess the creative juices just aren’t flowin’ this week. I’ve made plenty of cards in the past, but this time around, no matter what idea I came up with, the cards just ended up looking pretty crappy…too crappy to even show you 🙂

Since I have no project for you this week, I figured I would at least show you how I used some of my clip art designs that I got from Dover. Awhile back I bought Dover’s Art Deco Designs CD and clip art book. I can’t remember if I purchased it directly from Dover or if I got it from Amazon.com.

Anyhoo, I finally started playing around with the CD the other day. On the CD is the Dover Design Manager where you can pull up the clip art designs and do basic graphics editing. The clip art images on the Art Deco CD are all in black and white. I decided that I wanted to add a little color to the designs that I chose.

I printed out my designs onto 140 pound watercolor paper. First, I printed the images individually onto regular printer paper. My watercolor paper is 9 x 12, so after printing the image onto the printer paper, I cut a square of watercolor paper to fit the image, used removable double-stick tape and taped the watercolor paper on top of the image on the printer paper and ran it through the printer again.

Once I printed my images, I used my General’s Kimberly Watercolor Pencils and colored the images.

These watercolor pencils are great. I know absolutely nothing about painting, but these pencils make it easy to create a watercolor design. In the areas where I wanted shading and definition, I pressed a little harder with the pencils to apply more color and pressed lightly on the pencils where I just wanted a hint of color. Once I had everything colored in, I ran a wet paint brush over top of the pencil, which immediately changed the pencil marks to a soft watercolor.

Voila! Instant works of watercolor of art! Use this idea for cards, scrapbooking, collage art, or frame them and hang ’em on your wall.

2 responses