Project #10: Double Moss Kitchen Cloth

originally posted August 26, 2010

Lately, I’ve been on a knitted kitchen cloth kick. I’ve been trying out new stitches and coming up with my own patterns for these cloths. I have several balls of cotton yarn in my stash in a variety of colors and they’re screaming to be stitched into something useful – and I can’t think of anything more useful than a kitchen cloth.

For this project I decided to use a yummy buttery yellow yarn – Lily Sugar ‘n Cream 100% cotton to be exact.

This particular cloth is super simple to make. If you know how to knit and purl, you can make this cloth. I used a double moss stitch for the body of the cloth and edged it in simple garter stitch. What I like about this pattern is that it’s somewhat mindless knitting. Nothing complicated and a project you can do while watching TV.

Materials Needed:

Worsted Weight 100% cotton yarn (I used Lily Sugar ‘n Cream – 70.9 g/2.5 oz ball, 120 yards)

Needles: Size 6

Gauge:

Gauge smage – I didn’t think it was vital for this project.

Instructions:

CO 43 sts

Knit 3 rows.

Row 1: k4, *p1, k1, rep from * to last 3 sts, k3

Row 2: k3, p1, *k1, p1, rep from * to last 3 sts, k3

Row 3: repeat row 2

Row 4: repeat row 1

Repeat Rows 1-4 a total of 14 times.

Knit 3 rows.

BO.

Finished size: Approximately 9 x 9 square.

Happy Knitting!

3 thoughts on “Project #10: Double Moss Kitchen Cloth

  1. The Modern Home Economist

    Thanks for the pattern. Seems like a nice simple purpose – odd question. How well to knits work as a dish cloth? Are they for wiping, washing or dusting. I just cannot image using a knitted item to effectively wash something. Is there a perticular wool you use. If they are effective I will be turning my yarn stash into hundreds of dishcloths, haha.

    1. Jennifer Post author

      They’re great for washing dishes and wiping down counter tops. I’ve only ever made them using the Lily Sugar ‘n Cream, which is 100% cotton. They hold up great and can handle being thrown in the washer over and over again.

  2. Claire Turner

    I’ve used this pattern before to make myself a flannel. My mum gets a lot of pain in her legs and I noticed when using my flannel to wash them that it hurt her less. So am gonna make her as many as my 40-odd grams of dk allows

Comments are closed.