Craftsy and Knit Lab

Standard

originally posted June 6, 2011

Recently I received an email from Knitting Daily about a special on Craftsy’s Knit Lab class. My first thought was “What the heck is Craftsy and why have I not heard of them before?” So of course I immediately went to the Craftsy website to see what it was all about. Well it turns out, Craftsy is an online community that offers classes in a wide variety of craft mediums like jewelry making, quilting, paper crafts, and knitting to name just a few.

I mulled it over for a day or two and decided to sign up for the Knit Lab class, and I’m glad I did. The class is taught by knitwear designer Stefanie Japel. She’s a really down-to-earth kinda girl whose style of teaching is such that even the first time knitter will be able to wrap their head around casting on, knitting, purling, and binding off. 

Through the first 6 or 7 sessions of class we worked on the above scarf called the Lacy Keyhole Scarf, which is one of 2 scarf patterns included in the course. This scarf looks a little complex but was extremely easy to make. It combines several basic knitting techniques like knitting and purling, the lacy part, and creating the keyhole.

My knitting skills are maybe a step up from beginner. I’ve been knitting for awhile but I’ve shied away from trying out garment patterns or socks because they seemed far too complex for me to handle.  I’ve also bypassed many scarf patterns similar to this because I didn’t think I’d be able to figure out how to create the keyhole, but it was shockingly easy to do.

There are several nice things about this class. For one, they’re recorded videos and you can always refer back to them at any time, even long after you’ve taken the class. There is an interactive discussion area where you can post questions to the teacher. And something I really like is that it almost feels like you’re right there knitting along with the teacher at a live class, which is kind of nice if you live in a community where knitting or crafting groups are non-existent.

So far, my experience with Craftsy has been a good one, and, overall, I think it’s a nice addition to the world of online crafting communities.

Happy Crafting!

One response